The Little Bits of Information Are Big

I read a lot and feel like I learn from what I read and I am sure I do but then I also know some of it goes in and even though it strikes me as I read it, I forget it.  I have been thinking about how I can change that.  I started taking notes when I read and that has helped some and I have a notebook that I can sift through for the most interesting little bites of information from books I have read.  I realized not long ago that I still don’t think that is enough for me.  So, that brings me to where I am now and my newest approach to add to my life and love of learning by figuring out how to take the most away from what I read.  I still read, I still write notes and I have now added picking one thing from those notes and finding a way to add to my life and reflecting on how that is going.  The list is growing and so is my exposure to new ways of doing things.  I am sure all of this won’t stick but I am also certain without really focusing on adding and trying some of this new information to daily practices and then reflecting back on how it is going I would not be making the most out of the time I spend reading.

The reflecting part is the part that I think helps the most, this helps me make sure the little changes I am making are actually working for me and learning to tweak them to fit my needs and work the best for me.  I stopped thinking so big on what I read and started thinking smaller and that has helped.  It is more real with what I will actually accomplish instead of it being to much so doing nothing.  Small steps forward are better than standing still.  Leaning in is better than leaning back in fear or overwhelm.  There is so much to learn and so much we can all do if we allow ourselves the opportunity by getting out of our own way.

Keep questioning, Keep learning, Keep opening yourself up to challenges, Keep reflecting lean-in-copy

 

This entry was posted in Lean In and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment